Fourteen Candidates Vie for Seats on 2004 NRP Policy Board

Fourteen candidates have filed for four open neighborhood representative seats on the 2004 NRP Policy Board. The 19-member Policy Board provides overall direction to the program and is primarily responsible for the review and approval of Neighborhood Action Plans.

NRP Policy Board Candidates
at a Glance

At-Large Candidates:

Gregory M. Bastien
Debbie Evans
Alicia R. Phillips
Sean Wherly

Protection Neighborhood Candidates:
Dolores (Dee) Cotten
*Nicholas T. Kakos
Jeffrey L. Strand

Redirection Neighborhood Candidates:
Zachary L. Korb
*Carol Pass
Mary Watson

Revitalization Neighborhood Candidates:
*Cam Gordon
George Jelatis
Steven A. Miller

The NRP Policy Board election is held annually in November to fill four neighborhood resident seats on the Board. One candidate is elected to represent each of the three types of NRP neighborhoods: redirection, revitalization, and protection. An at-large representative is also elected. Neighborhood representatives serve one-year terms beginning in January.

Also serving on the Policy Board are public officials from the City of Minneapolis, Hennepin County, the Minneapolis Public School Board, the Minneapolis Public Library Board, and the Minneapolis Park and Recreation Board. Community interest groups hold an additional five seats and one seat each goes to a state senator and a state representative.

Election proceedings will begin at 6:30 p.m. on Thursday, November 20, 2003 on the second floor of the Crown Roller Mill Building, 105 Fifth Avenue South. Candidate forums will be held prior to the balloting. The at-large forum will be held at 7:00 p.m., and the redirection, revitalization, and protection forums will begin at 8:15 p.m. Balloting for at-large candidates will begin at 8:00 p.m., and balloting for the three neighborhood categories will begin at 8:45 p.m. One alternate will also be elected to the Policy Board in each category.

The League of Women Voters of Minneapolis will conduct the election proceedings, which are open to the public. Only registered electors representing each of the 80 Minneapolis neighborhoods will be allowed to vote. For more information on the election or the elector selection process, please call the League of Women Voters of Minneapolis (LWV) at 612-333-6319 or Carsten Slostad of the NRP at 612-673-5150.

Information on each of the candidates as well as a Voter's Guide containing the candidate's responses to eight questions are now available. To view the information without downloading the Voter's Guide, click on the name of the candidate/s in the shaded box above.



Site Map

© 2001-2008 Minneapolis NRP - All Rights Reserved